Director's Chair Award


2013 Director’s Chair recipient Dr. Sarah George, Executive Director of the Natural History Museum of Utah, pictured with Jayceen Craven Walker, UMA Board President; Jason B. Jones, WMA Executive Director; and Redmond Barnett, WMA Board President

A chance to recognize unsung heroes of our profession… “not necessarily just for directors”

The Western Museums Association is accepting nominations for the Director’s Chair Award. This recognition is designed to showcase and acknowledge outstanding achievement in the museum profession. The Director’s Chair Award is presented annually to an individual who has had a significant and lasting impact on museum practices or the museum profession in the Western Region. Please note that nominees can be working in any discipline. The award, a canvas director’s chair with the recipient’s name boldly printed across the back, will be given at the Annual Meeting of the Western Museums Association.

Recipients are profiled in the Annual Meeting program, address the Annual Meeting, and will be featured on the westmuse website.

The following guidelines will be considered in the selection of the Director’s Chair Award recipient:

  • Performance at a sustained level of excellence in service to museums or the museum profession
  • Development and/or implementation of a specific project that has made a major contribution to museums or the museum profession
  • A significant contribution to museums or the museum profession at a national level
  • Promotion of excellence and recognized value to the public and the community through their museum, institution, or profession

To submit a nomination for the Director’s Chair Award please submit a letter outlining the nominee’s qualifications and how they meet the above criteria.

The letter must include YOUR name, title, institution, phone number; THE NOMINEE’S name, title and institution. Give specific examples as to how the nominee meets some or all of the above criteria.

Email application to: no later than July 15. You will receive a confirmation upon receipt of your application, and you will be notified of the final award results no later than August 15.


Director’s Chair Awardees
2013 Sarah George
2012 Katherine Hough
2011 Not awarded
2010 Bruce Eldredge
2009 Wanda Chin/Terry Dickey
2008 Sarah Kennington
2007  Steve Olsen
2006 Ellen Ferguson
2005 Nora Wagner
2004 Ron Chew
2003 Steven High
2002 Alyce Sadongei
2001 Ted Greenberg
2000  Michael Ames
1999 L. Thomas Frye